Shortlist to be announced on December 12

Macky Sall

By Nsikan Ikpe


Nine African leaders have made the longlist in the 2018 edition of the African Leader of the Year contest.

They are President Joao Lourenco of Angola, President Nana Akufo Addo of Ghana, President Abiy Ahmed of Ethiopia, President Alasane Ouattara of Cote d’Ivoire and President Macky Sall of Senegal.

Others are President George Weah of Liberia, President Paul Kagame of Rwanda, King Mohammed VI of Morocco and last year’s winner, President John Magufuli of Tanzania.

The contest is an annual end-year activity conducted by the pan-African newspaper, The Difference. Voting in the first and second legs of the process takes place via social media while the final winner is determined from a shortlist of 3 that is debated by the board of Editors of The Difference.


President Macky Sall of Senegal




Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.