Ahmed, Addo, Kagame: Who gets the #ALOTY18 crown?


Voting closes 6p.m, December 28


By Timi Obafemi


Who gets the crown in the 2018 edition of the annual #AfricanLeaderoftheYear award organised by the pan-African media outlet, The Difference Newspaper?

According to the shortlist released by the board of The Difference, the three last men standing in the race are President Nana Akufo Addo of Ghana, President Paul Kagame of Rwanda and Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed of Ethiopia.

Initially, all 55 Heads of State in the continent were eligible for nomination. After the first round of voting however, the list was thinned down to a long-list of 9 contenders that included Addo, Ahmed and Kagame.

Others that made it to the long-list included President Macky Sall of Senegal, President George Oppong Weah of Liberia, President Alasane Ouatara of Cote d’Ivoire and King Mohammed VI of Morocco.

The 2017 edition was won by the President John Magufuli of Tanzania.


President Nana Akufo Addo of Ghana


M&A: After Intercontinental, Diamond, who is next in Access Bank’s sight?

Previous article

Alex Badeh’s death raises troubling questions

Next article

You may also like


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *