AU Secretariat commences inspection phase with visit to Ghana

By Nsikan Ikpe

Eight African nations are presently locked in a fierce tussle to be selected as hosts of the secretariat for the African Continental Free Trade Agreement, AfCFTA.

They include Cote d’Ivoire, Kenya, Namibia, Ethiopia, Senegal, Egypt and Ghana.

And to kick-start the process of determining which of the contending nations would get the nod at the end of the day, a 10-member African Union, AU delegation led by AU Advisor on Regional Integration, Ambassador Rosette Nyirinkindi Katungye touched down at Accra, Ghana on Monday on a 7-day inspection tour.

They will meet with top government officials and inspect facilities scheduled to be used for the Secretariat.

Addressing a press conference upon their arrival in Accra, Katungye said the AU was pleased with Ghana’s willingness to host the secretariat and that the delegation will collaborate with the officials of the bidding nations and other stakeholders to ensure that the right choice is made.

Ghana’s Information Minister, Kojo Oppong Nkrumah led the team that went to the Kotoka International Airport to receive the delegation.

President Nana Akufo Addo of Ghana



Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.