CompetitionsTop News

Entries for NLNG Science prize closes May 25


NLNG calls for entries for 2018 The Nigeria Prize for Science competition

By Nsikan Ikpe


The closing date for the receipt of entries by the Nigeria LNG (NLNG) Limited, sponsors of The Nigeria Prize for Literature and The Nigeria Prize for Science, for the 2018 edition of the Science Prize is May 25, a statement from the organisation has disclosed.

The literature prize had opened on February 13, 2018 and closed on March 29, 2018.

However, the window for the science prize on the other hand, opened on February 15, 2018 and will close on May 25, 2018.

The focus for the literature prize in 2018 is Drama while the science prize will be accepting entries on Innovations in Electric Power Solutions. The literature prize rotates among four literary genres- Prose Fiction, Poetry, Drama and Children’s Literature.

The prizes come with a prize cash of $100,000 each.

According to the company, Professor Matthew Umukoro of the Department of Theatre Arts, University of Ibadan is chair of the panel of judges for this year’s Literature prize competition. Other members include Professor Mohammed Inuwa Buratai, a Professor of Theatre and Performing Arts and the Dean of the Faculty of Arts at Ahmadu Bello University, (ABU), Zaria; and Dr. Mrs Ngozi Udengwu, a Senior Lecturer in the Department of Theatre and Film Studies at the University of Nigeria, Nsukka.

The Nigeria Prize for Literature has since 2004 rewarded eminent writers such as Ikeogu Oke (2017, Poetry) with The Heresiad; Abubakar Adam Ibrahim (2016, Prose) with Season of Crimson Blossoms; Sam Ukala (2014; Drama) with Iredi War; Tade Ipadeola (2013; Poetry) with his collection of poems, Sahara Testaments; Chika Unigwe (2012 – prose), with her novel, On Black Sister’s Street; as well as Adeleke Adeyemi (2011, children’s literature) with his book The Missing Clock.

Others are Esiaba Irobi (2010, drama) who clinched the prize posthumously with his book Cemetery Road; Kaine Agary (2008, prose) with Yellow Yellow; Mabel Segun (co-winner, 2007, children’s literature) for her collection of short plays Reader’s Theatre; Professor Akachi Adimora-Ezeigbo (co-winner, 2007, children’s literature) with her book, My Cousin Sammy; Ahmed Yerima (2006, drama) for his classic, Hard Ground; and Gabriel Okara (co-winner, 2005, poetry), Professor Ezenwa Ohaeto (co-winner, 2005, poetry).

On its part, The Nigeria Prize for Science has also been awarded to science laureates such as Professor Akii Ibhadode (2010); the late Professor Andrew Nok (2009); Dr. Ebenezer Meshida (2008); Professor Michael Adikwu (2006); and joint winners Professor Akpoveta Susu and his then doctoral student, Kingsley Abhulimen (2004).




Dayo Olomu’s 53 gifts for Makoko girls

Previous article

GTBank lauded on financial performance

Next article

You may also like


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Competitions