Ghana, Rwanda ratify #AfCFTA treaty

By Nsikan Ikpe


Ahead of the July follow-up summit of the African Union holding in Nouakchott, Mauritania, and conscious of the massive economic benefits that it would bring to them and the continent, Ghana, Kenya and Rwanda have become the first African nations to ratify the African Continental Free Trade Agreement, #AfCFTA treaty that was signed in Kigali, Rwanda recently.

In separate sessions with the Chairperson of the African Union Commission, Moussas Faki Mahamat, at the organisation’s headquarters in Addis Ababa, representatives of the three nations handed over the ratification documents.

The Ghana team to the presentation event was led by President Nana Akufo Addo himself with Mahamat tweeting thereafter on the Ghanaian visit:

‘I thanked Pres. @NAkufoAddo for his personal commitment to ensure #Ghana was among first to ratify the #ACFTA. Ghana is also candidate to host the #ACFTA Secretariat. We also discussed peace & security in the Region including Ghana’s continuing mediation role in Togo.’

And on Rwanda, the AU Chairperson revealed:

‘#Rwanda becomes the 3rd @_AfricanUnion member state to submit ratification instruments for the #ACFTA after Kenya and Ghana, and the FIRST to ratify the Protocol on the Free Movement of Persons and the African Passport. Murakoze!’

Incidentally also, both Ghana and Rwanda are two of the fastest growing economies in Africa and the world at the moment.


President Nana Akufo-Addo of Ghana



Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.