NewsNigeriaPoliticsTop News

House leader tussle: How Gbajabiamila emerged



The last-minute intervention by President Muhammadu Buhari in the crisis rocking the House of Representatives helped to resolve the long-running dispute in the contest for the position of Majority Leader of the House of Representatives in favour of Mr. Femi Gbajabiamila, the member representing the Surulere, Lagos Federal Constituency in Nigeria’s House of Representatives.

Hon. Pally Iriase got the job of Chief Whip while Hon. Leo Ogor, representing the Isoko Federal Constituency of Delta State bagged the position of Minority Leader.

With this development, analysts hope that the house would now settle in to business and join in ensuring that Nigeria gets the best governance it can find in this season.

In the red chamber, the Senate chose former Akwa Ibom Governor, Senator Godswill Akpabio as Senate Minority Leader with a vote of confidence also being passed on Senator Bukola Saraki as Senate President via a motion raised by Senator Anyanwu, Imo PDP.



Boko Haram: Does Cameroon hold the aces?

Previous article

Shake-up in NIMASA

Next article

You may also like


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More in News